Auto-Reply in Windows Live Hotmail

August 18, 2007 at 3:08 am 50 comments

Question: How do I set up an auto-reply in my Windows Live Hotmail account?

 

Solution: (This solution is only for Hotmail users – Newest version of Hotmail required) To the left of the top menu bar, click on the ‘Options‘ button and then click ‘More Options’ in the drop down menu. Under Manage your account, click on the link that says, ‘Send Automated Vacation Replies‘. Fill in – Send vacation replies to people who e-mail you and then write a message that will be replied to the sender. Then click ‘Save‘.

Entry filed under: email, Hotmail.

Set up Auto Reply in Gmail Make Windows look like a Mac!

50 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Conan  |  August 19, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    I did everything you said and it is not even there I also do have Windows Live amd it is fully updated. I have a mac so would that be different if so please let me know to do this

    Reply
  • 2. 88michael  |  August 20, 2007 at 8:39 am

    The operating system will not affect this problem, but the web browser that you are using may limit the features you are allowed to use. Opera is one good example. If you Opera with Windows Live Hotmail, you will only see a classic version. The browser than has the best compatibility with Hotmail is Internet Explorer 7. But since you are using a Mac, you can try Camino. (Camino is like FireFox for a Mac.) I am not too sure about Safari but I know that it is not very stable with Hotmail. Note that if you are using the classic version of Hotmail, then you cannot use the auto reply feature.

    Reply
  • 3. 88michael  |  August 22, 2007 at 7:00 am

    There seems to be an ActiveX control where you enter the reply. So you’d actually have to use IE on Windows for
    that to work. On Firefox in Windows, the page doesn’t appear to
    completely load.

    Reply
  • 4. B Al Eisen  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:07 am

    I am trying to remove the vacation message. It won’t go away. Please help!

    Reply
  • 5. 88michael  |  December 1, 2008 at 6:39 am

    @B Al Eisen – Try removing the vacation message in a different web browser. If it still doesn’t work, try removing the message on a different computer. If not, then contact the WL Hotmail support team.

    Reply
  • 6. vince monte  |  December 18, 2008 at 3:00 am

    i am using the vacation reply for my business email but any ideas as of how to change the subject, at the moment it just says ‘vacation reply’
    thanks

    Reply
    • 7. liz  |  June 2, 2012 at 9:02 am

      I am wondering the same thing, can you change the subject line instead of saying “vacation reply“?

      Reply
  • 8. 88michael  |  December 20, 2008 at 11:50 am

    @vince monte – Do you see a little box for entering your vacation message?

    Reply
  • 9. Shohug  |  December 24, 2008 at 6:33 am

    please help me to change the safari cache directory on windowsXP.

    Reply
  • 10. NZ  |  March 5, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Thanks for your instructions, very clear and helpful….

    Reply
  • 11. Michelle Stiller  |  September 5, 2009 at 12:21 am

    I don’t want the auto-reply to say vacation message because I am not on vacation. I do want an auto-reply sent out, though, since I am receiving a high volume of applications at this time. How do I send one out that doesn’t say “vacation?”

    Reply
    • 12. 88michael  |  November 5, 2009 at 6:36 am

      Sorry, I am not too sure about this.

      Reply
  • 13. Bruce Wagner  |  March 12, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    The Answer to EVERY Question Above:

    (1) Go to Gmail.com and click Sign Up.

    (2) Find some computer somewhere that still has Windows and Internet Explorer on it. Use that computer to log in to your Hotmail account and set up an auto-reply (using the instructions above). Make your auto-reply say:

    “No, I am not on vacation. However, my email address has changed. Please update your address book. My new correct email address is: whateveryournameis@gmail.com

    Simple.

    Don’t use Hotmail.

    Reply
  • 14. Laurel  |  April 21, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    The “send automated vacation reply” is no longer available on Live Hotmail. It doesn’t come up in the options menu. What is up with that?

    Reply
  • 15. Kim  |  May 17, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I can’t find the Auto vacation reply in my options…where did it go???

    Reply
  • 16. mary  |  May 23, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    I also no longer have the automated rreply response. This is really frustrating.

    Reply
  • 17. mcpvc  |  June 1, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Unfortunately it’s no longer available. Hotmail disabled it “for a while”. Probably too many spam issues…

    Reply
  • 18. loyola  |  June 6, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    I did all that is asked of me under options but I do not find the auto reply. Should I update my version?

    Reply
  • 19. Sohail khan  |  June 18, 2010 at 5:22 am

    How can i set the outo reply plz guide me plz

    Reply
  • 20. Jhon  |  July 25, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    The Auto reply has been removed for a while because of spammers using it. It will be added again when the issue has been sorted.

    Reply
  • 21. Rosie  |  August 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Just found out the feature has been discontinued – VERY annoying. So now I’ll get a truckload of angry emails when I get back from holiday

    *seriously considering switching over to gmail as my main account*

    Reply
  • 22. venis  |  March 2, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    lasvegas city

    Reply
  • 23. venis  |  March 2, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    i want to fine my adres

    Reply
  • 24. computer repair katy  |  July 25, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    Fantastic blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get comments from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

    Reply
  • 25. burim  |  December 6, 2011 at 12:08 am

    hi my add is block i can sing in so what i have to do

    Reply
  • 26. rencontres gay  |  July 17, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Hotmail is not a good solution.
    I will switch to gmail to save time and energy!

    Reply
  • 27. Sandra Harriette  |  May 16, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    Does it have to be a vacation reply? Can regular email platforms have a kind of autoresponder feature?

    Reply
  • 28. Gifts For Nurses  |  June 30, 2014 at 11:56 pm

    For most recent information you have to pay a quick visit world wide web and on the web
    I found this web page as a finest web page for newest updates.

    Reply
  • 29. bad credit mortgage re  |  July 5, 2014 at 6:21 am

    It’s awesome for me to have a web page, which is valuable in favor of my know-how.
    thanks admin

    Reply
  • You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation however I to find this topic to be
    actually something which I believe I might never understand.

    It kind of feels too complex and extremely huge for me.
    I’m having a look forward for your subsequent publish, I will try
    to get the grasp of it!

    Reply
  • 31. list building tool  |  August 30, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for
    this info! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 32. http://vaporate.org  |  September 20, 2014 at 7:48 am

    If you are going for finest contents like myself, simply go to see this web page everyday because it provides quality contents,
    thanks

    Reply
  • 33. internet  |  September 20, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    Your style is so unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from.
    Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this page.

    Reply
  • 34. please click the next site  |  September 20, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    It’s actually a nice and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 35. homesite  |  September 20, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    Thanks to my father who informed me on the topic of this weblog, this
    blog is really awesome.

    Reply
  • 36. Main Page  |  September 20, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this piece of
    writing i thought i could also make comment due to this sensible
    paragraph.

    Reply
  • 37. hacker un compte facebook  |  September 21, 2014 at 8:21 am

    “This experience reinforced to us that there is extra
    Facebook can do to assist folks rejoice and commemorate the lives
    of people they have lost,” a Facebook spokeswoman informed the BBC in an e-mail.

    An estimated 2.89 million Fb accounts belonged to dead
    folks in 2012, in keeping with Nathan Lustig,
    who founded a company called Entrustet to assist manage on-line accounts after death.
    Go through every of them, and edit as you please.

    Reply
  • 38. Anti-virus  |  September 22, 2014 at 10:38 am

    Wonderful website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user
    discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed here?

    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can
    get opinions from other experienced individuals that
    share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.

    Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  • 39. Youtube.com  |  September 26, 2014 at 12:15 am

    This is very attention-grabbing, You are an excessively professional blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to searching
    for extra of your great post. Additionally,
    I have shared your website in my social networks

    Reply
  • 40. hack angry birds epic  |  September 26, 2014 at 4:10 am

    Amazing! Itѕ truly remarkable post, Ι havе got muϲh clear
    idea on the topic of from this post.

    Reply
  • 41. ดูดไขมันหน้าท้อง  |  September 30, 2014 at 8:57 pm

    Excellent, what a weblog it is! This web site provides helpful information to us,
    keep it up.

    Reply
  • 42. Israel  |  October 1, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    If you desire to get a good deal from this post then you have to apply such techniques to your won blog.

    Reply
  • 43. Site De Rencontre Serieux  |  October 3, 2014 at 2:37 am

    It’s fantastic that you are getting ideas from this article as
    well as from our dialogue made at this time.

    Reply
  • 44. single people  |  October 7, 2014 at 8:37 am

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post.
    Thanks for supplying these details.

    Reply
  • 45. Montbrillant  |  October 16, 2014 at 10:57 am

    Thanks for finally talking about >Auto-Reply in Windows Live Hotmail | Tech Help Videos <Liked it!

    Reply
  • 46. Blanca  |  October 26, 2014 at 10:14 am

    , they became the first English team to compete in the European Cup in 1957.
    Wheen you can grab a player at the end of your draft that becomes your
    number 1 producer at a certain position, you, my friends, have a
    true Sleeper. Euro 2012 is one of tthe most significant forthcoming football matches.

    Reply
  • 47. Signs of Depression  |  December 14, 2015 at 2:42 am

    It’s hard to find well-informed people for this subject, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about!

    Thanks

    Reply
  • 48. hp samsung galaxy murah berkualitas  |  December 24, 2015 at 7:05 pm

    My spouse and I absolutely enjoy your blogging and see the majority of your point of
    view’s to be what precisely I’m looking for for. Do you provide guest writers to make information for you?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subject
    matter you write related to here. Once again, amazing web site!

    Reply
  • 49. silahkan klik artikelnya disini  |  October 7, 2019 at 9:14 pm

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a
    co-worker who had been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he actually ordered me dinner because I discovered it
    for him… lol. So allow me to reword this….

    Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to
    talk about this topic here on your blog.

    Reply
  • 50. weheartit.com  |  October 10, 2019 at 11:02 pm

    Whats up very nice website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing ..
    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also? I’m happy
    to search out numerous helpful information here within the
    submit, we need develop more techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories