Keeping your computer clean

October 22, 2007 at 6:42 am 4 comments

Keeping your computer clean is not just wiping the dust of it with a cloth. What I mean is that it is very important to not let your computer get infected with virus and spyware and also to not install a lot of junk unless if you have no choice. Viruses and Spyware can be avoided with a good Security Suite. However, there is no program that prevents you from installing a program. It is up to you. I recommend installing the software that you really need and the ones that you trust. Installing more and one security suite and anti virus program can cause them to not function properly and to conflict each other. Also, although you uninstall a security suite or anti virus program, compartments of that software can still be stored in the back ground of your PC. That is why it is better to stick with one Security Suite than try out a different one each year. Another important point is to prevent installing trail out software and betas. Installing too much of these can cause your computer to slow down. Take this real example, When I first bought this ASUS laptop, I upgraded to Vista and then installed nearly everything I could. I kept the trial software, installed five web browsers and all these other freebies and performance enhancement utilities. When I start-up the laptop, it took about 3 minutes and 3 minutes to shut-down and 70% of RAM were already used up. So then I wanted to install Windows Live OneCare and it was a total nightmare. (Read my nightmare story here)

After reinstalling Windows, I was too scared to install any other junk on my laptop. Although some performance enhancement software does help your PC’s speed, they may conflict your Windows default settings and too many of them can cause your computer to crash. So, I do not want you to experience my nightmare and having to reinstall Windows. I have done it and I have experienced it, so you don’t!

Entry filed under: freeware, Software, troubleshoot, Tune up, utilities, Windows.

Apology for Computing in the clouds delay Download ‘Tech Help Videos’ free toolbar

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Teste » Keeping your computer clean  |  October 22, 2007 at 6:59 am

    […] charismaallover wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptKeeping your computer clean is not just wiping the dust of it with a cloth. What I mean is that it is very important to not let your computer get infected with virus and spyware and also to not install a lot of junk unless if you have … […]

    Reply
  • […] You can read more here […]

    Reply
  • 3. hoozingo » Blog Archive » Keeping your computer clean  |  October 22, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    […] can read more here This entry was posted on Monday, October 22nd, 2007 at 1:42 am and is filed under computer. You […]

    Reply
  • 4. pp  |  September 7, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    This was a really great read, I am very glad I came across your site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts


