Change the look of the Vista sidebar clock

September 7, 2007 at 8:00 am 20 comments

Question: How can I change the appearance of the clock sidebar gadget in Windows Vista?

Answer: You can change the look and feel (appearance) of the sidebar clock in Windows Vista by clicking on the little tool button that appears when you place your mouse on the clock gadget. In the small pop-up box, click on the left or right arrow to select a different look for your clock. After you are satisfied with the appearance, click ‘OK’.

Vista Clock 1Vista Clock 2

Update – A very loyal reader “Royds” has made a tutorial on how to use your own custom image for the sidebar clock. Download the guide here.

Entry filed under: add-ons, Desktop, Vista, Windows. Tags: .

Security Guide Series: Intro – The risks and dangers Security Guide Series: How to protect your PC

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Idetrorce  |  December 15, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  June 5, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    thank you so much, didn’t realise it was that simple!!

    Reply
  • 3. Sebbe  |  July 21, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    is it possible to change the picture of the clock? Maby add one of my own pictures?

    Reply
  • 4. 88michael  |  July 23, 2008 at 1:51 am

    @Sebbe – I don’t think you can use your own custom clock image. However, you can use the pre-made images by following the instructions in the above post or find some in Windows Gallery at – http://vista.gallery.microsoft.com/vista/SideBar.aspx?mkt=en-us

    Reply
  • 5. Royds  |  August 15, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    @Sebbe & 88michael

    You can change the look of the Vista Gadget Clock with your own image. You need to take ownership of 2 java files in the “clock.gadget/en-US/jv” folder add some settings and then add images that you want to the image folder.

    I’ve tried it today and it works. If you want instructions just email me.

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/highroyds/vistaclock.jpg – screenshot

    Reply
  • 6. 88michael  |  August 16, 2008 at 12:27 am

    @Royds – Thanks for the solution. I appreciate it very much🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Royds  |  August 19, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Glad to help, I wanted to find out myself, because I couldnt find any solution I thought I’d try it myself and with a lot of tweaking – hey presto new clock😀

    I’ve also been tweaking the RSS Feed gadget too with different images.

    But like I said if you want a step by step guide just email me and I’ll be happy to pass the info on. If you can’t email me just leave me a message here and I’ll get back.

    Reply
  • 8. BobH  |  August 29, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Hi! I’d appreciate the step by step guide if it’s still available.

    Reply
  • 9. Royds  |  September 3, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I’ve zipped the files and instructions together to help you out.

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/highroyds/Smile Clock.rar

    Reply
  • 10. Royds  |  September 3, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Sorry that didnt work right that link, just copy and paste the link into the address bar and then it’ll work.

    Reply
  • 11. BobH  |  September 10, 2008 at 2:50 am

    Have the guide downloaded okay. Now to get my image and walk through the steps. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 12. BobH  |  December 6, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Works great! I took a picture of an old family clock and converted it into my sidebar clock. It initially wouldn’t display, but after I closed down the gadget and reopened it worked fine. Thanks again!

    Reply
  • 13. hepcat  |  December 9, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Hello- this maybe old but can I have that link for directions for adding your own skin for clock please thanks…

    Reply
  • 14. 88michael  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:09 am

    @hepcat – Follow the instructions in the post. It will teach you how to use the already made clocks and also your own skins.

    Reply
  • 15. Sheena  |  March 7, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Can anybody help me? My clock (the vista sidebar clock) has disappeared and I dont know where it has gone. I think my daughter may have something to do with its disappearance!! Can you tell me where I might be able to download it again? Thanks

    Reply
  • 16. 88michael  |  March 15, 2009 at 12:21 am

    @Sheena – Sorry for the late reply. You should be able to recover the clock by clicking on the little plus/add button that appears at the top of the sidebar when you hover your mouse over the sidebar.
    Click on the little plus/add button and you’ll see a range of widgets including the clock.

    Reply
  • 17. Daniel  |  June 13, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Im loving this windows sidebar but I really wish there was a site that had heaps more free gadgets. DOes anyone know any?

    Reply
    • 18. 88michael  |  June 14, 2009 at 12:54 am

      There’s are lots of gadgets available at Windows Live Gallery – http://gallery.live.com/

      Reply
  • 19. technology and intertainment  |  December 21, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    nice job guys,i like your simple themes
    But I had difficulty navigating through your website because I kept getting 502 bad gateway error.

    Reply
  • 20. Mitchell Berna  |  March 20, 2015 at 6:56 am

    Thanks for posting.It was extremely great reading in relation to your thoughts about this specific subject matter.I had been hunting for this type of write up for some time,and fortunately i came accross your site.I’m hoping you certainly will continue to keep assisting people in the same manner in future also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts


