Cannot write nor reply email in Hotmail with Firefox

August 23, 2007 at 11:17 am 12 comments

Question: I cannot write nor reply email in Hotmail. I am using Firefox. However,  I can view email. When I try to write or reply email, I am presented with only the ‘Subject’ and ‘To’ boxes. There is nowhere to write my message.

Hotmail error

Solution: It is very likely that the problem is caused by an Firefox add-on. ‘AdBlock Plus‘ is one that I has trouble with. If you have Adblock Plus or any other Adblock add-on, disable it for Hotmail and you should be able to reply and write email again.

Entry filed under: add-ons, email, Error, Hotmail, troubleshoot, Windows Live. Tags: .

Enhanced and Easy Windows Start Menu Change Vista Start Menu/Programs List view

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dan  |  September 5, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    9-5-07 I used to be able to sign in to hotmail, now with the change over that windows live did, I can not sign in or change account or have any access to my email, using win 98

    Reply
  • 2. 88michael  |  September 6, 2007 at 9:19 am

    What web browser are you using? You should use the latest browser that is supported by your operating system. (I recommend I.E 7 or Firefox 2.0) Try and empty your cookies and internet temp. files.

    Reply
  • 3. blaine kuhn  |  September 17, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Cannot access my hotmail account.

    I was out of town for a week and when I returned I could not
    access it.

    The note said that “this page isn’t redirecting properly.”

    One of the possible solutions suggested was “that sometimes
    it can be caused by disabling or refusing to accept a cookie>”

    Help? Would like to talk to a tech.

    Reply
  • 4. 88michael  |  September 18, 2007 at 9:42 am

    I would suggest that you do the usual check ups such as emptying the internet temp. files and cookies. Then, I would check if you have not disabled or banned Hotmail. In addition, please check if you have any add-ons that might cause the problem such as Ad Block. Also, check your firewall if it is not blocking it.
    Another issue is that a number of Firefox users are having the same issue. I do not know if you are using Firefox, but try use Internet Explorer (version 7 is recommended).
    If this does not work, please leave another comment.
    But here is also a link to the Hotmail Support Team – http://support.msn.com/default.aspx?productkey=hotmail&locale=en-us

    Reply
  • 5. Elliot  |  March 19, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Hi, when I reply to emails in hotmail the writing area is really small and I cant seem to change or increase the scroll bar area to the right, can anyone help?

    Reply
  • 6. 88michael  |  March 29, 2008 at 5:02 am

    @ Elliot – If you provide me a screenshot of what you see, it will be really helpful. Email it to email88michael@gmail.com

    Reply
  • 7. olivia  |  July 24, 2008 at 5:26 am

    hi there micheal. i cannot view my emails at all even after clicking on them numerous times. It just won’t activate and let me view my messages. what’s the problem? And i have checked no such thing as AdBlock in my add-ons. My firewall also doesn’t block hotmail.

    Reply
  • 8. 88michael  |  July 25, 2008 at 7:53 am

    @olivia – What web browser are you using? And which version? I suggest reinstalling it. (It’s the easiest way)

    Reply
  • 9. KC  |  August 9, 2008 at 10:17 am

    In adBlock Plus ( Ctrl + Shift + E )
    delete this line (May be line : 64)

    /[^a-z\d=+%@](?!\d{5,})(\w*\d+x\d)?\d*(show)?(\w{3,}%20|alligator|avs|barter|blog|box|central|context|crystal|d?html|exchange|external|forum|front|fuse|gen|get|house|hover|http|i?frame|inline|instant|live|main|mspace|net|partner|php|popin|primary|provider|realtext|redir\W.*\W|rotated?|secure|side|smart|sponsor|story|text|view|web)?_?ads?(v?((ition|meta|tology3|versal)\.com|(marketplace|rom)\.net|action\.se|bot|brite|broker|bureau|butler|cent(er|ric)|click|client|content|coun(cil|t(er)?)|creative|cycle|data(id)?|engage|entry|er(tis\w+|t(pro)?|ve?r?)|farm|feelgood|force|form|frame(generator)?|gen|gif|groupid|head|ima?ge?|index|info|js|juggler|layer|legend|link|log|man(ager)?|max|mentor(serve)?|mosaic|net|optimi[sz]er|parser|peeps|pic|po(ol|pup|sition)|proof|q\.nextag|re(dire?c?t?|mote|volver)|rotator|sale|script|search|sdk|sfac|size|so(lution|nar|urce)|stream|space|srv|stat.*\.asp|sys|(tag)?track|trix|type|view|vt|x\.nu|zone))?s?\d*(status)?\d*(?!\.org)[\W_](?!\w+\.(ac\.|edu)|astra|aware|adurl=|block|login|nl/|sears/|.*(&sbc|\.(wmv|rm)))/

    Reply
  • 10. Y_Less  |  October 27, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    This is not AdBlock’s fault, it’s Filterset.G’s fault. AdBlock recommend NOT using this filterset as it’s not well optimised and give a big list of better filters to use. I suggest you use one of those ones – I used to have this problem until I stopped using Filterset.G (it also gets rid of an extra plugin – all other filters use AdBlock’s inbuilt update feature, Filterset.G doesn’t.

    Reply
  • 11. Bracha  |  May 9, 2010 at 5:31 am

    I see the same problem in FF 3.5.9. Until it is resolved, you might try using the “Reply all” option. I noticed that in most cases (you need to have the entire original message displayed, including all its images) it seems to work as expected.

    Reply
  • 12. burn DVD  |  July 10, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I have thought and have removed this phrase

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

